Follow us: twitter facebook youtube rss
Bearcats logo
Bearcats logo

Conference-best 176 student-athletes named to AE Spring Honor Roll

Bearcats also rank first with 95 Commissioner's Honor Roll selections

June 21, 2012

Conference-best 176 student-athletes named to AE Spring Honor Roll

America East Release

Binghamton Honor Roll Selections

VESTAL, N.Y.—For the seventh consecutive year, the Binghamton athletic department has posted the most America East Spring Honor Roll selections. There were 176 student-athletes within the department who attained a 3.0 during the spring 2012 semester.

Those sports which competed during the winter and spring and were part of the America East Conference were included in the selection process. In addition, 91 of Binghamton’s selections were named to the America East Commissioner’s Honor Roll for recording at least a 3.5 GPA during the Spring 2012 semester.

Binghamton also ranked third in the conference with 60 percent of its athletes (which competed in a winter or spiring sport) being named to the conference’s Spring Honor Roll. It marked the fifth consecutive year that at least 60 percent of the eligible student-athletes recorded a 3.0 GPA during the spring semester.

The men’s tennis team, which won its fifth straight America East title this past spring, also led all tennis squads in the conference with seven Spring Honor Roll selections. All seven student-athletes were named to the Commissioner’s Honor Roll.

Several of Binghamton’s high-profile student athletes were named to the America East Commissioner’s Honor Roll, led by first-team track & field All-American Erik van Ingen and America East Men’s Tennis Player of the Year Alexandre Haggai.

Joining Haggai from the men’s tennis team on the Commissioner’s Honor Roll were first-team all-conference selections Ruben Devos and Bastian Bornkessel. Other noteworthy selections included conference track champions Jessica Hennig, Kaitlin Sullivan and Jesse Fuca as well as men’s lacrosse first-team all-conference defender Ben Waldron and first-team all-conference women’s tennis player Jillian Santos. In addition, Nolan Slesnick of the men’s swimming & diving team received the Coaches’ Award following the conference championships back in February.

Three other first-team all-conference selections were named to the America East Honor Roll, including baseball players Mike Augliera and Lee Sosa, both of whom were selected in the recent Major League Baseball (MLB) Draft. Mike Antinozzi of the men’s lacrosse team was also tabbed.


Site sponsored by: sponsors Liberty Mutual Quality Inn Dunkin Donuts Traditions at the Glen Subway Holiday Inn Express Laser Eye Center Hampton Inn Carr Printing Weis Holiday Inn University Plaza 20 Hawley Street Apartments M and T Bank Twin River Commons