Follow us: twitter facebook youtube rss
Bearcats logo
Bearcats logo

BU Inducts 37 student-athletes into NCA Honor Society

2014 class ties highest total since inaugural 2006 group

April 7, 2014

BU Inducts 37 student-athletes into NCA Honor Society

The 2014 NCA Induction Class

Photo Gallery

Previous NCA Induction Classes

Contact: David O’Brian (

The Binghamton Athletic Department inducted 37 student-athletes into the National College Athlete Honor Society (Chi Alpha Sigma) on April 23 in the TAU Club Room of the Events Center on Monday. This marks the ninth year that the athletic department has held inductions.

In order to be eligible for induction into Chi Alpha Sigma, a student-athlete must have achieved junior academic standing by their fifth semester, have at least a 3.4 cumulative grade point average and have earned at least one varsity letter in a sport sponsored by the NCAA.

The 37 inductees ties Binghamton’s highest single-year total, which came in the inaugural year (2006).

“We are very proud of each of these student-athletes for the way they have represented Binghamton University in the classroom,” Director of Athletics Patrick Elliott said. “To have such a large induction class this year is a tribute to the academic accomplishments of our athletic department as a whole.”

Since its inception, 259 Binghamton student-athletes have been inducted into Chi Alpha Sigma.


Garrett Augustyn (Men’s Lacrosse)
Julia Barac (Women’s Basketball)
Bill Bereszniewicz (Baseball)
Brandon Bordeau (Men’s Track)
Shea Brodsky (Women’s Tennis)
Russell Broere (Men’s Swimming)
Bret Celeste (Men’s Soccer)
Steven Celeste (Men’s Soccer)
Katherine Corcoran (Women’s Soccer)
Jake Devin (Men’s Track)
Colleen Dougherty (Softball)
Kelly Donigan (Men’s Lacrosse)
Catherine Eicher (Women’s Track)
Lizzie Greiner (Women’s Cross Country & Track)
Alexis Hatcher (Women’s Cross Country & Track)
Nate Kozyra (Men’s Cross Country & Track)
Meghan Kraus (Volleyball)
Harry Lee (Men’s Tennis)
Robin Lesage (Men’s Tennis)
Sarah Loud (Women’s Track)
Jade Marhaba (Men’s Cross Country & Track)
Katherine Medianik (Women’s Tennis)
Kenyon Merriwether (Women’s Track)
Cal Michaels (Men’s Cross Country & Track)
Joe Miceli (Men’s Track)
Robert Moewes (Men’s Soccer)
Selina Ng (Women’s Swimming)
Eileen O’Hara (Women’s Cross Country & Track)
Connor Olsen (Men’s Track)
Nina Sarmiento (Women’s Track)
David Schanz (Baseball)
Jack Sedgewick (Golf)
Jake Thomas (Baseball)
Alyssa Valler (Women’s Soccer)
Jon Vallecorsa (Men’s Cross Country & Track)
Grace Vickers (Volleyball)
Isaac Vingan (Men’s Swimming)

Site sponsored by: sponsors Liberty Mutual Quality Inn Dunkin Donuts Traditions at the Glen Subway Holiday Inn Express Laser Eye Center Hampton Inn Carr Printing Weis Holiday Inn University Plaza 20 Hawley Street Apartments M and T Bank Twin River Commons