Follow us: twitter facebook youtube rss
Bearcats logo
Bearcats logo

Cross country teams wrap up season at ECAC/IC4A Championships

Miura seventh in women's race, Hausamann places 15th in men's event

November 17, 2012

Cross country teams wrap up season at ECAC/IC4A Championships

Men's Results

Women's Results

BRONX, N.Y. – Senior Rachel Miura was seventh overall in the women’s race while freshman Ethan Hausamannn was 15th in the men’s meet, highlighting the Binghamton cross country teams’ performances at the season-ending ECAC/IC4A Championships on Saturday at Van Cortlandt Park. The Bearcat women placed fifth out of 19 teams in the ECAC event while the men were ninth out of 16 teams in the IC4A competition.

Miura completed the women’s 5,000-meter course in a time of 18:41. In the process, she became the first BU runner to place in the top 10 of the ECAC race since Katie Radzik won the event in 2006.

Junior Caitlin Jelinek was 25th overall (19:17), followed by freshman Lizzie Greiner in 29th place (19:23), freshman Naomi Barnett in 40th place (19:37) and freshman Shannon O’Hara in 64th place (19:58).

Bethany Shactleben of George Mason won the 177-runner race in a time of 18:04. Sacred Heart, meanwhile, took home the team title with 73 points.

Hausamann, meanwhile, cover the men’s 8,000-meter course in a time of 26:37. Sophomore Collin Frost was 24th (26:56), junior Chris Fernandez was 33rd (27:04), senior Anthony Gaetani was 59th (27:31) and freshman Jade Marhaba was 93rd (28:30).

Christopher Johnson of Colgate won the race in a time of 25:28. There were 151 finishers in the men’s IC4A meet. In the team standings, Fairfield captured first place.

NOTES: Binghamton now has five top-ten finishers at the ECAC Division I Championships all time. Lindsey Bohrer-Yardley was sixth in 2003, Stacy Kramer was second in 2004 and Radzik also placed fifth in 2005.

Cross country teams conclude season at ECAC/IC4A Championships

Horton leads women's team with 14th-place finish

November 19, 2011

Cross country teams conclude season at ECAC/IC4A Championships

Women's ECAC Results

Men's IC4A Results

BRONX, N.Y.—The Binghamton men’s cross country team took five of the first 11 places en route to capturing its first-ever IC4A University championship on Saturday afternoon at Van Cortlandt Park. In the women’s ECAC University race, the Bearcats were 11th overall.

In a field of 16 teams and 139 runners, Binghamton recorded just 35 points, outdistancing runner-up Fordham, which finished with 60 points. Freshman Colin Frost was the Bearcats’ top finisher, placing fourth and covering the 8,000-meter course in a time of 26:07. He is the highest Binghamton finisher at the IC4A meet in the program’s 11-year NCAA Division I history. Junior Anthony Gaetani was fifth (26:08), freshman Cal Michaels was seventh (26:15), junior Vasili Papastrat was eighth (26:15) and junior Jason Santos was 11th (26:21). The separation between the Bearcats’ top five runners was just 14 seconds.

Julian Saad of Fordham won the individual title with a time of 25:28.

On the women’s side, graduate student Ashley Horton was Binghamton’s top finisher, placing 14th out of 217 runners in the 5,000-meter race with a time of 18:42. Junior Rachel Miura was 20th (18:56) and junior Lindsay Raulli was 26th.

“I was proud of how well we focused and competed today,” head coach Annette Acuff said. “The team has grown a lot this year and we will reap the benefits next year.”

Kathryn Fannig of Albany won the ECAC race with a time of 18:06. The Great Danes also won the team title with 109 points.

NOTES: Prior to this year, Binghamton’s top IC4A Division I finisher was Adam Hill, who was fifth in 2007. Binghamton was the runner-up as a team that year. On the women’s side, however, Katie Radzik won the individual title in 2006.

Site sponsored by: sponsors Liberty Mutual Quality Inn Dunkin Donuts Traditions at the Glen Subway Holiday Inn Express Laser Eye Center Hampton Inn Carr Printing Weis Holiday Inn University Plaza 20 Hawley Street Apartments M and T Bank Twin River Commons