Follow us: twitter facebook youtube rss
Bearcats logo
Bearcats logo

Danaher named to Johnny Bench Award watch list

Senior captain is one of 48 catchers across the country on list, only America East selection

March 13, 2013

Danaher named to Johnny Bench Award watch list

VESTAL, N.Y.—Binghamton senior catcher Mike Danaher has been named to the initial watch list for the 2013 Johnny Bench Award presented by, the Greater Wichita Area Sports Commission announced this week. The award was created in 2000 to honor college baseball’s top NCAA Division I catcher.

Danaher is a four-year letterwinner, two-year starter and 2013 team captain. An honors student with an overflowing resume off the field, Danaher is arguably the top defensive catcher in the America East. He is the only catcher from the conference and one of a small group of Northeast catchers on the elite Bench Award list.

A cerebral player who calls his own games for Binghamton, Danaher managed a pitching staff that held down a 4.21 ERA and produced a pair of MLB draft picks last spring. Early in 2013, Danaher and the Bearcats are 8-4 and off to the program’s best start in its Division I tenure.

He is no stranger to national awards, having previously been a finalist for both the 2012 Tom Walter College Baseball Inspirational Award and the TD Ameritrade Fan Choice Award for total contributions as a student-athlete. A biology major, Danaher has career aspirations in the medical field and took part in a four-week medical mission to Nairobi, Kenya in 2012. 

The watch list will be narrowed down to the semifinalists, whom will be announced May 16, 2013. Ballots will be sent to the national voting panel at the end of May for a vote to determine the three finalists.

The finalists will be announced June 4, 2013. A final vote among the national committee will occur during the College World Series. All finalists will be brought to Wichita and the winner will be announced at the 15th Annual Greater Wichita Sports Banquet on June 27, 2013.

2013 Johnny Bench Award presented by Watch List

Blake Austin JR Auburn University
Brett Austin SO North Carolina State University
Dan Bethea SR St. John’s University
Austin Bossart SO University of Pennsylvania
Ryan Breen SR University of Central Florida
Garrett Custons SR Air Force Academy
Mike Danaher SR Binghamton University
Blair DeBord JR Kansas State University
Brian Dixon JR University of New Orleans
Kaiana Eldredge JR University of Kansas
Zane Evans JR Georgia Tech
Drew Farber JR UNC Wilmington
Jacob Felts JR University of Texas
Aramis Garcia SO Florida International University
Mitchell Garver SR University of New Mexico
Kyle Gibson JR University of Louisville
Grayson Greiner SO University of South Carolina
Radley Haddad SR Butler University
Chris Hoo JR Cal Poly
Nate Irving SO University of Virginia
Blake Johnson SR Arkansas-Little Rock
Jose Longoria SR Grambling State University
Adam Martin JR Western Carolina University
Stephen McGee JR Florida State University
Riley Moore SO University of Arizona
Spencer Navin JR Vanderbilt University
Grant Nelson SR Saint Louis University
Ramon Ortega SR Manhattan College
Matt Paré SR Boston College
Jordan Parris JR Tennessee Tech University
Colton Plaia SR Loyola Marymount University
Jake Rodriguez JR Oregon State University
Tyler Ross JR Louisiana State University
Tanner Rust JR New Mexico State University
Scott Sarratt SR Georgia State University
Brandon Schott SR University of Maryland Eastern Shore
Kyle Schwarber SO Indiana University
Ronnie Shaeffer SR UC Irvine
Adam Sonabend JR Eastern Michigan University
Elvin Soto SO University of Pittsburgh
Michael Spano SR Florida Atlantic University
Andrew Stumph SR Texas State University
Alex Swim SR Elon University
Stuart Turner JR University of Mississippi
Luke Voit SR Missouri State University
Matt Winn SO Virginia Military Institute
Jake Wise JR University of Arkansas
Mack Zagunis SO Virginia Tech

Site sponsored by: sponsors Liberty Mutual Quality Inn Dunkin Donuts Traditions at the Glen Subway Holiday Inn Express Laser Eye Center Hampton Inn Carr Printing Weis Holiday Inn University Plaza 20 Hawley Street Apartments M and T Bank Twin River Commons