Follow us: twitter facebook youtube rss
Bearcats logo
Bearcats logo

Hazarika repeats as AE Tennis Player of Year

Sophomore shares award in 2014; BU puts eight on all-conference team

May 2, 2014

Hazarika repeats as AE Tennis Player of Year

Sophomore Sid Hazarika

America East Release

AE Championship Highlights

Contact: John Hartrick (

VESTAL, N.Y. - Binghamton sophomore Sid Hazarika repeated as America East Men’s Tennis Player of the Year after the Bearcats captured the program’s seventh consecutive conference crown and 10th in the last 13 years. Hazarika, will share the award in 2014 with UMBC’s Justin Carter.

He won 19 matches this year, including 14 dual wins.

It was the sixth straight year (and 10th in 13 yrs.) that a Binghamton player was chosen as America East Player of the Year. 

In all, eight Bearcats were selected to the all-conference teams, including first-team members Hazarika (singles and doubles), sophomore Alexander Maisin (singles and doubles), junior Robin Lesage (singles), junior Ismael Dinia (singles and doubles) and junior Aswin Nambi (doubles). In addition, earning second-team laurels were junior Eliott Hureau (singles and doubles), senior Florian van Kann (singles) and sophomore Janik Burri (doubles).

Hureau led the Bearcats with 22 singles victories, followed by Lesage’s 21 wins. Van Kann had the best record in dual matches with an 11-4 mark.

Five-time America East Coach of the Year Adam Cohen guided his 2013-14 squad to a 16-11 record, including a perfect 5-0 mark against conference opponents. In those five matches, BU surrendered just three team points. By vote of the America East coaches, the Stony Brook head coach was awarded Coach of the Year. 

Co-Player of the Year
Sid Hazarika

First Team All-Conference

Sid Hazarika
Alexander Maisin
Robin Lesage
Ismael Dinia

Sid Hazarika/Ismael Dinia
Alexander Maisin/Aswin Nambi

Second Team All-Conference

Eliott Hureau
Florian van Kann

Eliott Hureau/Janik Burri

America East Player of the Year
2002 – Pedja Zdravkovic, Hartford
2003 – Akshay Rao, Binghamton
2004 – Dan Hanegby, Binghamton
2005 – Dan Hanegby, Binghamton
2006 – Richemn Mourad, Binghamton
2007 – David Jackson, UMBC
2008 – Aretem Baradach, Stony Brook
2009 – Sven Vloedgraven, Binghamton
2010 – Sven Vloedgraven, Binghamton
2011 – Sven Vloedgraven, Binghamton
2012 – Alexandre Haggai, Binghamton
2013 – Sid Hazarika, Binghamton
2014 – Sid Hazarika, Binghamton and Justin Carter, UMBC

Site sponsored by: sponsors Liberty Mutual Quality Inn Dunkin Donuts Traditions at the Glen Subway Holiday Inn Express Laser Eye Center Hampton Inn Carr Printing Weis Holiday Inn University Plaza 20 Hawley Street Apartments M and T Bank Twin River Commons