Follow us: twitter facebook youtube rss
Bearcats logo
Bearcats logo

Men’s 4x800 relay team wins IC4A Championship

Holt, McIe, Fernandez and Garn win in 7:23.33, Haley ties for eighth in women's pole vault

March 9, 2014

Men’s 4x800 relay team wins IC4A Championship

Sarah Haley

Meet Results

Video of 4x800 Win

Video of Women's 4x400 school record

Contact: David O’Brian (

BOSTON, Mass.—Freshman Eric Holt, sophomore Adam McIe, junior Jesse Garn and senior Chris Fernandez won the 4x800 relay at the ECAC/IC4A Indoor Track Championships at the Boston Track and Tennis Center on Sunday afternoon.

One day after setting the school record by running 7:28.39 in the trials (which placed third overall), the Bearcat quartet clocked a first-place time of 7:23.33 in the finals. Monmouth was second (7:23.65) and Albany was third (7:26.02). Heading into the weekend, the Binghamton program record was 7:34.32, set back in 2011.

“What a fantastic run,” head coach Mike Thompson said. “Everyone was at their best and just killed it. This is an all-time great Binghamton performance.”

The win concludes a whirlwind month for Garn, who ran the anchor leg in 1:47.5 to seal the win. Three weeks ago, he ran in the Wanamaker Mile at the Millrose Games. Last week, he broke four minutes in the mile at the Boston/Last Chance Meet. In between those two events, he won the America East indoor title in the 1000 on Feb. 24.

On the women’s side, freshman Sarah Haley tied for eighth in the pole vault (11-11 ¾). Two weeks ago, she won that event at the America East Championships.

The women’s 4x400 relay team of freshman Sarah Osaheni, junior Ivory Taussig and seniors Kathleen Klein and Erika Kisel finished ninth overall with an indoor program-record time of 3:45.93. The old mark of 3:46.60 was set back in 2010.

NOTES: Fernandez was also on the 2011 school-record 4x800 relay team along with Erik van Ingen, Casey Quaglia and Mike Jennings .. the time of 7:23.33 is the top NCAA Division I time in the nation this year. The 4x800, however, is not an event run at the NCAA Indoor Championships.

Site sponsored by: sponsors Liberty Mutual Quality Inn Dunkin Donuts Traditions at the Glen Subway Holiday Inn Express Laser Eye Center Hampton Inn Carr Printing Weis Holiday Inn University Plaza 20 Hawley Street Apartments M and T Bank Twin River Commons