Follow us: twitter facebook youtube rss
Bearcats logo
Bearcats logo

Swimming and Diving Announces End-Of-Year Awards

Bearcats select captains for 2014-15 season

June 12, 2014

Swimming and Diving Announces End-Of-Year Awards

Eric Farm

Vestal, NY—At the end of April, the Binghamton University swimming and diving program held their annual end-of-season team banquet. The ceremony featured awards for top performers from the 2013-14 season, as well as the announcement of team captains for the upcoming 2014-15 campaign.

Sean Clark and the coaching staff named both the men’s and women’s MVP’s, most improved swimmers, hard-to-outdo (H2O) candidates and a most valuable and improved diver. All award winners and captains were picked based on a team vote; with the exception of the Coaches’ Awards.

Sophomore Eric Farm was selected as the MVP on the men’s side after a stellar second season with the Bearcats. Farm won three gold medals at this year’s ECAC Championships, including his standout performance in the 100 back in which he collected the second fastest time in school history (49.14). The New City, NY native also swam the first leg of the gold-medal winning 200 and 400 medley relay teams, positioning BU to a runner-up finish in the team’s final meet of the season.

For the women, graduating senior Lauren Flower was selected as team MVP. The four-year distance swimmer set a school record in the mile and was Binghamton’s third highest scorer at the America East Championships in 2014. Flower won a bronze medal in the mile and was a finalist in the 400 IM at the conference championships. She helped guide the Bearcats to a 4-2 dual meet season in 2013-14 and finished up her career as Binghamton’s sixth highest scorer in America East Championship competition.

Freshman Liam Cashin, junior Emelia Carlino and sophomore Stephanie Malyszka all were honored with the most improved swimmer awards. Cashin, who came into the program having never swam in the 200 IM, ended up breaking the freshman school record in the event at the ECAC Championship with a time of 1:51.47. In addition, he also moved into the program’s top-10 list in the 200 free


Carlino, a junior from Hopewell Junction, N.Y. saw incredible improvement in 2013-14. She dropped nearly 10 seconds off her 200 breaststroke time and another four seconds in the 100 breast to earn spots in the consolation finals of the America East Championship. Her 100 breast time of 1:07.63 is now eighth all-time in program history. Malyszka jumped to number five all-time in Binghamton history in the 200 breast (2:26.61) and also recorded top-10 program times in both the 200 and 400 IM. After not competing in the conference championships as a freshman, Malyszka stepped up in her second season by collecting the eighth most points on BU’s roster at the season-ending meet.

For the third consecutive year, diver Devin Zdanowski was named the most valuable diver of 2013-14. Zdanowski continued his dominance, qualifying for NCAA zones for the second consecutive season. Zdanowski finished first a total of 12 times over the course of his junior season and was named ECAC Diver of the Meet after winning a gold and silver medal at the 15-team event. The most improved diver award went to freshman Bettina Hughes. The Garden City, NY native finished in fifth place on the three-meter board finals at the 2014 America East Championship and was runner-up in three dual meets during her freshman campaign.

The H2O (hard-to-outdo) Coaches’ Award was given to a trio of sophomores (Isaac Vingan, Andrew Duszynski and Taryn McLaughlin). The H2O award recognizes individuals who display dedication, determination and total team spirit on a daily basis.

Next year’s captains were also chosen at the team’s end-of-year banquet. The men’s captains are seniors Emmett Jacobi and Devin Zdanowski, while the women selected a trio of seniors in Shannon Lampe (two-time captain), Timea Tozser (two-time captain) and Corinne Zotter.

Men’s Most Valuable Performer: Eric Farm, So.
Women’s Most Valuable Performer: Lauren Flower, Sr.
Men’s Most Improved Swimmer: Liam Cashin, Fr.
Women’s Most Improved Swimmer(s): Emelia Carlino, Jr., Stephanie Malyszka, So.
Men’s H2O Coaches’ Award: Isaac Vingan, So., Andrew Duszynski, So.
Women’s H2O Coaches’ Award: Taryn McLaughlin, So.
Most Valuable Diver: Devin Zdanowki, Jr.
Most Improved Diver: Bettina Hughes, Fr.

2014-15 CAPTAINS:
Men: Emmett Jacobi ’15, Devin Zdanowski ‘15
Women: Shannon Lampe ’15, Timea Tozser ’15, Corinne Zotter ‘15

Site sponsored by: sponsors Liberty Mutual Quality Inn Dunkin Donuts Traditions at the Glen Subway Holiday Inn Express Laser Eye Center Hampton Inn Carr Printing Weis Holiday Inn University Plaza 20 Hawley Street Apartments M and T Bank Twin River Commons