Follow us: twitter facebook youtube rss
Bearcats logo
Bearcats logo

Swimming & Diving Announces Captains for 2013-14

Head Coach Sean Clark also awards top performers

May 20, 2013

Swimming & Diving Announces Captains for 2013-14

Contact: Terrence Lollie (

VESTAL, N.Y. – Head coach Sean Clark and the Binghamton University swimming and diving program held its annual end of the year banquet, in which the team awarded outstanding performances from the 2012-13 season as well as naming their captains for next year.

Clark and his staff named men’s and women’s most valuable performers (MVP), most improved swimmers, hard-to-outdo (H2O) candidates and a most valuable and improved diver. All award winners and captains were honored based on a team vote, except the coaches’ awards.

Senior Tim Cabasino was named the men’s team MVP after capturing four gold medals at the 2013 America East Championship. Cabasino won the 50 free, 100 fly and swam legs on the 200 and 400 medley relay teams. Sophomore Shannon Lampe was named the women’s team MVP after an outstanding second year with the Bearcats where she earned finalist honors at the 2013 America East Championship. Lampe touched eighth in the 500 free, swimming a career-best time of 5:03.84 in the preliminaries, ranking her third all-time in program history.

Freshman Tommy Cummings, junior Lauren Flower and senior Chelsea Deignan were named the most improved swimmers of the 2012-13 season. Cummings had a terrific freshman campaign collecting three medals at the conference meet, including gold in the 100 breast. Flower reclaimed her 200 breast school record with a dynamic performance in the consolation final at the conference meet with a time of 2:17.64. She also holds the school record in the 1000 free (10:22.96), while ranking second in the 200 and 400 IM. Deignan captured three lifetime bests in the 100 and 200 breast as well as the 200 IM. She now ranks fifth in the 200 breast and ninth in the 100 breast all-time in program history.

Sophomore Devin Zdanowski earned his second straight most valuable diver award after becoming just the second Binghamton diver to qualify for the NCAA Zone meet in both diving events. Zdanowski captured silver on the 3-meter board and bronze on the 1-meter board at the 2013 America East Championship. Senior Justin Mattison won his third most improved diver award after collecting silver on the 1-meter board at the conference meet. Freshman Katie Ellsworth was the most improved diver on the women’s side, competing on the 3-meter board at the conference meet after almost no experience.

The H20 (hard-to-outdo) coaches’ award went to seniors Josh Saccurato and Melissa Lindahl as well as freshman Pat Kilgallen. The H20 award recognizes the individual who displays dedication, determination and the total team spirit on a daily basis. Saccurato won four medals at the conference meet while Kilgallen and Lindahl each earned a pair of finalist honors.

The men’s captains for the 2013-14 season will be seniors Collin Figus, Ed Hausmann and John Pangal. Representing the women for the 2013-14 season will be juniors Shannon Lampe and Timea Tozser.

At the 2013 America East Championship the men finished second for the first time since 2007, while the women earned their second top –five finish in the past three years. Freshman Brian McKenna was named the meet’s Most Outstanding Rookie, the third Bearcat to earn such an honor.

Men’s Most Valuable Performer: Tim Cabasino, Sr.
Women’s Most Valuable Performer: Shannon Lampe, So.
Men’s Most Improved Swimmer: Tommy Cummings, Fr.
Women’s Most Improved Swimmer: Lauren Flower, Jr./Chelsea Deignan, Sr.
Men’s H2O Coaches’ Award: Pat Kilgallen, Fr./Josh Saccurato, Sr.
Women’s H2O Coaches’ Award: Melissa Lindahl, Sr.
Most Valuable Diver: Devin Zdanowski, So.
Most Improved Diver: Justin Mattison, Sr.

2013-14 CAPTAINS:
Men: Collin Figus ’14, Ed Hausmann ’14, John Pangal ‘14
Women: Shannon Lampe ’15, Timea Tozser ‘15

Site sponsored by: sponsors Liberty Mutual Quality Inn Dunkin Donuts Traditions at the Glen Subway Holiday Inn Express Laser Eye Center Hampton Inn Carr Printing Weis Holiday Inn University Plaza 20 Hawley Street Apartments M and T Bank Twin River Commons