For Immediate Release: February 22, 2007
Contact: Anthony G. Naglieri (
Phone: 607-777-2956

BU Men's Swimming Leads Conference with Six All-Academic Selections

VESTAL, N.Y. -- The America East Conference announced the members of the 2007 America East Swimming and Diving All-Academic team on Thursday with Binghamton placing a league-high six swimmers among the 15 student-athletes selected.

The six Bearcats selected represented a mix of upper and underclassmen, including three sophomores and three seniors, highlighted by 2007 Most Outstanding Swimmer, David Holmes (Doncaster, England) and Coaches' Award winner Brian Koizim (White Plains, N.Y.). Co-captain Trevor Stone (Windsor, N.Y) joined the senior duo while the sophomore class placed Brian Koralewski (Floral Park, N.Y.), Sean Lorenz (Norwich, N.Y), and Brenno Varanda (St. Petersburg, Fla.).

"To lead the league is a great testament to both the character of our men's swimmers and the caliber of student-athletes at Binghamton," said head coach Sean Clark. "We are fortunate to have an environment here where success is expected in all areas of life, not just simply in athletics."

Each All-Academic Team has been selected based on the student-athlete’s academic and athletic accomplishments. Academic achievement for consideration requires student-athletes to have a minimum cumulative grade-point average of 3.00 entering the season. Athletic accomplishment standards vary between team sports and individual sports.

For swimming & diving, student-athletes are required to be a top-three finisher at the conference championship meet. Team size for individual sports is determined by the number of all-conference honorees who possess the minimum academic requirement. Freshman are not eligible for the All-Academic Team.

America East Men’s Swimming & Diving All-Academic Team

David Holmes, Binghamton
Brian Koizim, Binghamton
Brian Koralewski, Binghamton
Sean Lorenz, Binghamton
Trevor Stone, Binghamton
Brenno Varanda, Binghamton

James Lands, Boston U.
Nathan Richard, Maine
Tim Conway, UMBC
Milos Djukic, UMBC
Adam Eiban, UMBC
Ryan Karrer, UMBC
Joseph Semetelli, UMBC
Alex Kissel, Stony Brook
Ruslan Safarov, Stony Brook

Mission Statement
| Go Back to Home Page |
Copyright © Binghamton University. All rights reserved.
No portion of this site may be reproduced or duplicated without the permission of Binghamton University.