For Immediate Release: January 11, 2009
Contact: Ian Milne (
Phone: 607-777-6800

Swimming and Diving get swept by hosting Buffalo
Senior Brenno Varanda leads Binghamton with two first-place finishes

Full Results...

BUFFALO, N.Y. -- Senior Brenno Varanda highlighted the Bearcats performance with two individual wins as Binghamton fell to host Buffalo at Alumni Arena Natatorium on Sunday afternoon. The men were downed 126-91, while the women fell 140-81.

For the men, Varanda won the 200 IM with a time of (1:55.93), and picked up his second win in the 200 breast (2:08.14). Senior Andrew Palumbo was close behind in the 200 breast, claiming second place (2:12.64). Sophomore Jason Chen swam to two second place finishes. The first in the 200 free, which was his best time of the season (1:45.02), followed up by the 100 free (47.50). Also taking second place for the Bearcats was freshman Nolan Slesnick in the 1000 free (9:56.61) and junior Philip Dzieniszewski in the 50 free (21.79).

For the women, sophomore Lyndsi Worthington raced to a win for the women in the 200 back with a time of 2:14.37. She was follwed up by sophomore Amanda Ciccone who placed second in the 50 free with a time of (25.45). Freshman Tricia Alejandro also had a solid meet placing third in the 200 IM (2:16.84) and 500 free (5:20.57).

On the boards senior Ryan Graham took second place on the one-meter and three-meter board (288.08). For the women, senior Kate Hassfurter finished with a score of 201.59 on the three-meter board to claim third place.

"We're just about as tired as we could be right, coming off of our training trip...It definitely looked good on paper," commented head coach Sean Clark after the meet. "Buffalo definitely swam up to their abilities...We were a little bit off, but we gave it what we had."

This was the Bearcats first meet since returning from their training session in Florida over the semester break.

The Bearcats are back in the water this Saturday, January 17 at 1 p.m. as they host St. Bonaventure in their final home meet of the year.

| Go Back to Home Page |
Copyright © Binghamton University. All rights reserved.
No portion of this site may be reproduced or duplicated without the permission of Binghamton University.