For Immediate Release: May 11, 2008
Contact: Matt Muzza (
Phone: 607-777-2956

Binghamton's Allen chosen as America East Woman of the Year Nominee

America East release

Cambridge, Mass. -- Binghamton senior
Ashley Allen has been selected as one of 11 nominees for the America East Woman of the Year award. Allen becomes the third straight Bearcat volleyball student-athlete to represent Binghamton in the Woman of the Year selection process, joining Jacki Kane (2008) and Megan Hoag (2007).

Allen is an accounting major who takes part in SAAC and the Hall of Fame selection committee. She was also a key member of the St. Jude's Up 'til Dawn letter-writing campaign.

In 2008, she was a team co-captain and ranked third on the team in both kills and blocks. She helped lead the team to a 9-3 America East record and to the conference championship game. She finished her four-year career ranked seventh on the schools all-time kill list.

To be nominated for the Woman of the Year award, student-athletes must have completed intercollegiate eligibility in her primary sport by the end of the 2009 spring season or received her undergraduate degree prior to the conclusion of the summer 2009 term and have a minimum cumulative grade-point average of 2.500 (4.000 scale).

In conjunction with the changes in the nomination process for the NCAA Woman of the Year award, the America East Woman of the Year award was established for the 2005-06 athletic season. Beginning in 2006, the NCAA Committee on Women’s Athletics (CWA) started receiving conference-designated nominees in lieu of the previous institution- and state-based nomination format.

The nominees will be narrowed down to three finalists on Wednesday, May 27 via a release on the conference web site with the America East Woman of the Year being announced at the conference’s Annual Meeting in Burlington, Vermont on Tuesday, June 9.

The America East Woman of the Year will then be forwarded to the NCAA Woman of the Year selection committee. The selection committee will select the top 10 winners in each NCAA division (I, II and III). From among those 30 honorees, the selection committee will determine the top three in each division. Finally, the members of the CWA will vote from among the top nine to determine the 2009 NCAA Woman of the Year.

| Go Back to Home Page |
Copyright © Binghamton University. All rights reserved.
No portion of this site may be reproduced or duplicated without the permission of Binghamton University.