For Immediate Release: June 11, 2008
Contact: Matt Muzza (
Phone: 607-777-2956

Binghamton's Kane named America East Woman of the Year Finalist
Volleyball standout is among final three to represent conference

America East release

VESTAL, N.Y. -- Recent Binghamton graduate
Jacki Kane (Centennial, Colo.) has been selected as one of three America East Woman of the Year finalists. The volleyball standout joined former teammate Megan Hoag '07 as the second Binghamton student-athlete to reach the finalist round. The conference will announce the 2007-08 Woman of the Year on June 18.

Kane, who recently graduated with a 3.69 GPA as a dual major in English and political science, is Binghamton's Female Athlete of the Year and was also a three-time first team all-conference selection. In 2005, she was named the America East Volleyball Championship's Most Outstanding Player in leading the Bearcats to their first conference title.

The team MVP this past fall, she led her squad to its fourth straight playoff appearance while ranking first in the conference and 14th in the nation with a 1.55 blocks per game average. She finished her career as the schools all-time leader with 611 total blocks.

Kane was one of six conference Scholar-Athletes this past fall and was a member of the All-Academic volleyball squad each of the past two years. She was honored with the SUNY Chancellors Award for Student Excellence and the Arthur Ashe Jr. Sports-Scholars Award in 2007 and was also an ECAC Merit Medal recipient.

Kane served as the President of Sigma Tau Delta (International English Honor Society) in 2007-08 and is also a member of Pi Sigma Alpha (National Political Science Honor Society), Chi Alpha Sigma (National College Athlete Honor Society) and Sigma Alpha Lambda (National Leadership/Honors Organization).

This is the third year of the America East Woman of the Year award. The nominees are senior female student-athletes that best exemplified a commitment to service, leadership, athletics and academics during their collegiate careers. The conference announced its original 10 nominees on May 20.

The America East Woman of the Year will then be forwarded to the NCAA Woman of the Year selection committee. The selection committee will select the top 10 winners in each NCAA division (I, II and III). From among those 30 honorees, the selection committee will determine the top three in each division. Finally, the members of the CWA will vote from among the top nine to determine the 2008 NCAA Woman of the Year.

Boston University’s Sarah Hudak (field hockey) and Stony Brook’s Dana Hastie (cross country/track & field) are the other two finalists.

| Go Back to Home Page |
Copyright © Binghamton University. All rights reserved.
No portion of this site may be reproduced or duplicated without the permission of Binghamton University.