For Immediate Release: November 9, 2007
Contact: Anthony G. Naglieri (

Women's lacrosse announces 2008 schedule and captains
Musso, Pieper, and Slowik tabbed to lead new-look Bearcat squad

Complete Schedule

VESTAL, N.Y.- First-year Binghamton University women's lacrosse head coach Tony Zostant has announced the Bearcats' schedule and team captains for the 2008 season. Binghamton will celebrate the seventh season of intercollegiate women's lacrosse when they open their 16-game slate on Sunday, February 17 in Williamsburg, Va., against William and Mary.

Senior Leanne Musso (Auburn, N.Y.) and juniors Kara Slowik (Warners, N.Y.) and Kelsey Pieper (Rensselaer, N.Y.) have been named the 2008 team captains and will lead a young Bearcats squad that features 11 freshman and 12 newcomers.

"The three captains will bring quality leadership and experience headed into the spring campaign," head coach Tony Zostant said. "They have earned the respect from our team and staff with their work ethic and I believe they will provide our program with a very solid foundation for this season."

Following its season opener against the Tribe, the Bearcats will return to Binghamton to host the first of seven home contests to be played at the new, state-of-the-art Bearcat Sports Complex, against Patriot League opponent Colgate on February 22.

The following week, BU will open the America East portion of its schedule when the Bearcats host UMBC on February 29. The Bearcats will also host conference games against Boston University and Stony Brook, while traveling to New Hampshire, Albany, and Vermont.

Other non-conference opponents are set to include Big East power Syracuse University, the MAAC's Canisius, LeMoyne, and Niagara, and Siena, as well as Northeast Conference opponents Monmouth and Wagner College.

"We have put together a competitive schedule for the 2008 campaign," said Zostant. "I am looking forward to our opener at William and Mary and getting things underway this spring."

The top four teams during the regular season will qualify for the America East Championship with the winner earning an automatic berth in the NCAA Women's Lacrosse Championship. The tournament will be hosted at the highest seed and will run April 25-27.

| Go Back to Home Page |
Copyright © Binghamton University. All rights reserved.
No portion of this site may be reproduced or duplicated without the permission of Binghamton University.