For Immediate Release: January 9, 2008
Contact: John Hartrick (
Phone: 607-777-6800

BU wrestling beats Sacred Heart 22-21 and Wagner 33-15
Nate Patterson records two pins, improves to 8-2 in duals

FAIRFIELD, Conn. -- Junior Nate Patterson (Ontario, N.Y.) pinned both his opponents and sophomore Brett Nelson (Sarasota, Fla.) posted two major decisions to lead Binghamton (6-4) to a pair of wins over Wagner (33-15) and Sacred Heart (22-21) Wednesday night.

Binghamton recorded two pins and three major decisions against Wagner. Patterson pinned Sean Quinn in 2:03 and senior Mike Patterson (Ontario, N.Y.) capped the rout with a pin at heavyweight.

Against the host Pioneers, BU trailed 21-16 before receiving the clinching forfeit win at heavyweight. Patterson made quick work of his second opponent, pinning Mike Abell in 1:09. He is 13-7 overall and 8-2 in duals.

Nelson scored an 18-7 major decision at 174 against Wagner and then earned a 12-4 major at 165 pounds against Sacred Heart.

"The guys competed hard and showed a lot of character," head coach Pat Popolizio said. "We had some guys step it up big time tonight."

Binghamton next heads to Bloomsburg on January 12.

Match Results

Binghamton 33, Wagner 15
125 – Nicholas Keshecki (W) dec. Tyler Malmberg (B), 11-8
133 – Mike Kleeman (B) won by forfeit
141 – Michael Tutunjian (W) pinned Anwar Goeres (B), 4:43
149 – Ryan McGarity (B) maj. dec. Patrick Larkin (W), 11-2
157 – Nate Patterson (B) pinned Sean Quinn (W), 2:03
165 – Larry Peotter (W) pinned Spencer Casey (B), 6:02
174 – Brett Nelson (B) maj. dec. Peter Morano (W), 18-7
184 – Anthony Esposito (B) dec. Eddie Broderick (W), 5-3
197 – Corey Waite (B) maj. dec. Anthony Interiano (W), 14-3
285 – Mike Patterson (B) pinned John Graeffe (W), 4:38

Binghamton 22, Sacred Heart 21
125- Tyler Malmberg (B) won by forfeit
133 – Pat Feeley (S) dec. Mike Kleeman (B), 4-3
141 – Cory Dunn (S) dec. Anwar Goeres (B), 9-7
149 – Anthony Priore (S) dec. Ryan McGarity (B), 6-4
157 – Nate Patterson (B) pinned Mike Abell (S), 1:09
165 – Brett Nelson (B) maj. dec. Tom Sullivan (S), 12-4
174 – Jed Giguere (S) dec. Spencer Casey (B), 9-7
184 – Rick Eichenlaub (S) dec. Anthony Esposito (B), 8-2
197 – Brandon Lapp (S) inj. default Corey Waite (B), 0:25
285 – Mike Patterson (B) won by forfeit

| Go Back to Home Page |
Copyright © Binghamton University. All rights reserved.
No portion of this site may be reproduced or duplicated without the permission of Binghamton University.